top of page

CATHSSETA accreditation

CATHSSETA (Culture, Art, Tourism, Hospitality, and Sport Sector Education and Training Authority) is one of the 21 SETAs in South Africa. The SETAs were established in 2001 to facilitate skills development in their relevant sectors.

In reference to the field guiding industry, CATHSSETA is responsible for the travel and tourism sector in South Africa. It sets standards at a national level, defined as the NQF (National Qualifications Framework).





Major functions and responsibilities of CATHSSETA are:

- Develop and implement a skills plan for the sector, and prioritise skills development. - Support the NQF implementation. - Conduct and undertake quality assurance. - Disburse levies. - Report to the Minister of Higher Education and Training. Through our training programs and curriculum, Bushwise follows the guidelines and standards as set out by CATHSSETA. Bushwise is also aligned with FGASA certifications, which hold equivalent CATHSSETA qualifications.

FGASA is an accredited CATHSSETA training provider

Once a student has registered for a course with a FGASA-endorsed delivery partner (such as Bushwise), they are listed with CATHSSETA as a learner. Once the student has passed their exams and is declared competent by FGASA standards, they earn their NQF equivalent and are added to the CATHSSETA database. This process is facilitated by FGASA. Additional information on this process can be found on our FGASA page.

bottom of page